NAPT members voted for their president-elect, as well as three regional directors.

NAPT members voted for their president-elect, as well as three regional directors.

Image: NAPT

It's been a busy week for the National Association for Pupil Transportation, which saw Molly McGee Hewitt taking on her role as the new executive director and CEO and the election of four members of the group's board of directors.

"It has been an exciting week for NAPT with Molly McGee Hewitt taking the reins as executive director and CEO and an electrion that brought new and seasoned volunteer leaders to the NAPT board of directors," said Rick Grisham, the association's president.

The elected members include:

  • Teena Mitchell (South Carolina), President-Elect
  • Peter Lawrence (New York), Region 1 Director
  • Alex Spann (Tennessee), Region 2 Director
  • Athena Gerzanic (Wyoming), Region 5 Director

"I am pleased to welcome Athena and welcome back Teena, Peter, and Alex to the NAPT board," said McGee Hewitt. "These individuals bring a wealth of knowledge and expertise to our leadership; each of them will be a tremendous asset to the future of our association."

Mitchell, a transportation supervisor for Greenville County Schools, was elected to complete her one-year term as president-elect before becoming president for a 2-year term.

"It has been an honor to serve on the NAPT board for the past several years as Region 2 Director, where I had the opportunity to be part of developing our new strategic plan," Mitchell said. "My vision for NAPT is to expand upon our well established educational resources, pushing us further than we have ever been before on the national stage."

Lawrence, in his final term on the board representing District 1, previously served two terms. He's a senior consultant for the Pupil Transportation Safety Institute.

Spann, a transportation consultant for the state of Tennessee's Department of Education, served one year as acting Region 2 Director and now serves the remainder of this three-year term.

Gerzanic, transportation director for Carbon County School District No. 1 in Wyoming, will serve a three-year term as Region 5 Director, succeeding Theresa Anderson.

In a news release, the NAPT gave thanks to Anderson "for her longstanding commitment and outstanding contributions to the board. Your fellow board members and staff will miss you, Theresa. We wish you nothing but the best in the future."

About the author
News/Media Release

News/Media Release


Our editorial staff has selected and edited this news release for clarity and brand style because we believe it is relevant to our audience.

View Bio