Michigan Awards School Bus Technician of the Year
Michigan Awards School Bus Technician of the Year

The Michigan Association for Pupil Transportation (MAPT) has named Dean Councilor, lead bus mechanic for Traverse City Public Schools (TCAPS), as School Bus Technician of the Year.

Councilor, who has more than 27 years of experience, has been with Traverse City since 2007. He has participated in MAPT mechanic troubleshooting competitions, earning several first- and second-place finishes. He also holds 17 National Institute for Automative Service Excellence (ASE) Mechanics certifications. He's currently president of the Kingsley Sportsman Club, and once raised $500 for the Ronald McDonald House by selling tickets for people to watch him shave off his long beard.

"Dean's years of experience as a school bus technician has served our students and district well," said Doug Partlo, Traverse City's assistant director of transportation. "His troubleshooting abilities and dedication to his trade have contributed to keeping TCAPS' fleet of 100 buses well-maintained, safe, and on the road."

MAPT also recognized other award recipients, including:

  • Katrina Morris (West Shore Educational Service District) - Supervisor of the Year
  • Diane Miklusicak (Allegan Area Educational Service Agency) - School Bus Driver of the Year
  • Brenda Stein (Caro Community School) - Office Professional of the Year