General Interest
 Enter Forum: General Interest
 School Bus Dimensions (70' long?)
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

m winters

2 Posts

Posted - 01/29/2002 :  07:50:41 AM  Show Profile  Visit m winters's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I am a landscape architect who frequently works on new/remodeled school sites where we design parking lots and bus drop-off areas. Recently I heard from someone that a school district in our state (MI) has begun using 70' long buses! Is this possibly true? A 70' bus? We typically plan for a full size bus to be 40'+/- long. I have heard that a new 45' bus is soon to be on the market though. Any info on this topic would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

Buskid
Top Member

USA
3368 Posts

Posted - 01/29/2002 :  08:51:50 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
I am a landscape architect who frequently works on new/remodeled school sites where we design parking lots and bus drop-off areas. Recently I heard from someone that a school district in our state (MI) has begun using 70' long buses! Is this possibly true? A 70' bus? We typically plan for a full size bus to be 40'+/- long. I have heard that a new 45' bus is soon to be on the market though. Any info on this topic would be greatly appreciated.

Our largest school buses at work are our tandem axle 40-foot Crowns and our Blue Bird & Thomas transits. I've never seen a school bus that is over 40-feet long. We have some articulated city buses that are 60-some-feet long, but most full-sized school buses are between 35-40'. So unless they're using the city buses to take students to school, I don't think there would ever be a 70-foot long bus in that parking lot.

Go to Top of Page

UncleNeal

USA
153 Posts

Posted - 01/29/2002 :  09:33:35 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote