Medical training for bus drivers???
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

CmtEmtB

USA
9 Posts

Posted - 11/02/2001 :  08:24:02 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I want to know everyone's opinion on CPR and/or first aid training for bus drivers. I am an EMT (Emergency Medical Technition) and CPR instruction. If a kid gets injured on my bus, I think I'll be OK in handeling it. But most of the drivers for our school (about 20 in all) don't even know basic first aid. Of all the people that should be certified, drivers and teachers are near the top of the list. Think of how many kids you see a day. Though accidents may be infrequent, the likelyhood of them happening is great. What is your opinion/your state's requirements?

Go the extra mile: It's never crowded.

wagonmaster
Top Member

USA
2298 Posts

Posted - 11/02/2001 :  10:02:26 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thats an admirable idea at first thought. However, most districts will be afraid of litigation under such circumstances. ANYTHING happens that shouldn't have and guess who gets the blame? Thats right, the school district! I doubt there would be many takers for that reason.
Joe

Edited by - wagonmaster on 11/02/2001 12:15:28 PM
Go to Top of Page

John Farr
Top Member

USA
642 Posts

Posted - 11/02/2001 :  11:07:09 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
CA drivers are required to have a first aid certificate. We go beyond the minimums and also require CPR for all drivers and bus attendants.

Go to Top of Page

Stevebus42
Advanced Member

USA
363 Posts

Posted - 11/04/2001 :  05:21:44 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
To CmtEmtB: