New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Kodie
Top Member

United States
2028 Posts

Posted - 08/14/2007 :  1:05:37 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
ok, I have been running a Cub Cadet tractor for 4-5 years now, I have a few questions because as it gets older it has more and more problems, its only a 2001. These are just general questiopns, you can just say yes or no because I need to bring it to the dealer to get it looked at and I want to know if its just mine.

Has anybody had the weld on the mower deck break?
Does anybody have squeeky mower deck guide wheels, if so how can I make them stop squeeking? I have tried everything
How many hours can you go before having to refill?, this ones a gas hog
On this tractor when you reverse the blade automatically turns itself off, how can I disable this feature?

Thanks for your help

03CV200
Top Member

United States
740 Posts

Posted - 08/14/2007 :  1:16:42 PM  Show Profile  Visit 03CV200's Homepage  Send 03CV200 an AOL message  Click to see 03CV200's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Well, I don't have a Cub Cadet, but rather a John Deere. I have however experienced some of the same issues.

1) Unless its a factory defect, the only thing that could cause the weld on the mower deck to break is abuse.
2) I too have squeaky deck wheels, I haven't found a solution either yet, my guess would be to grease (not oil) them.
3) My tractor doesn't have an hour meter, but I can mow my yard (about 1/4 to 1/2 an acre) 5 or 6 times on a tank (2.5 gallons).
4) The reverse shutoff when the blades are on is a safety feature and should NOT be disabled, my tractor has a "reverse override" button that you hold in if you want to back up with the blades engaged.

-Dave
Go to Top of Page

Kodie
Top Member

United States
2028 Posts

Posted - 08/14/2007 :  1:37:14 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Some of the neighbors have the reverse safety feature disabled