Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 Engine block heater timers
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

mathcounts

United States
1 Posts

Posted - 02/12/2007 :  11:56:10 AM  Show Profile  Visit mathcounts's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I'm a math teacher in COLD North Idaho doing a break-even analysis for installing timers on our large district fleet of school buses. Currently the drivers plug the buses in right when they get to their parking places after delivering kids. This is about 5:00 in the afternoon. I want to propose installing timers for the engine block heaters. Our director of transportation tells me that the heaters are both 1,000 and 1,500 watts. I am wondering if any of you members here know a good model of timer and where to purchase them that you could recommend which would allow multiple bus plug in (currently they have two buses per outlet).

Any help apreciated! I know our district could save a great deal on electricity use. Thanks in advance for any help or comments.

torque
Advanced Member

Canada
358 Posts

Posted - 02/12/2007 :  4:16:11 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
1500 watts, is about 12.5 amps. Are you sure your 2 busses per outlet are not split outlets?
I am not sure about the USA, but in Canada we are only alowed 15 amps per outlet.

You might also want to check with a local electrician for their advice,

If going with a timer, I would want something with a battery backup for the time, nothing worse than the power going out, and tiem trown off :)

Go to Top of Page

IBTMech
Top Member

USA
973 Posts

Posted - 02/12/2007 :  6:06:31 PM  Show Profile  Visit IBTMech's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I will check on the brand name of the timer we use. We have it set to come on at 3:30 AM for 6:30 start up.

All of our buses have a 1250 watt heater with their own outlet and GFCI.

If it doesn't fit, FORCE it.
If it breaks, well, it needed replacing anyway.
Pullin' wrenches for 45 years.