Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 S Cam Bushings
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

scot1337

119 Posts

Posted - 02/12/2018 :  1:43:08 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am replacing S cam bushings on the rear of a 2008 BB All American. My question is, should I repack the hub bearings since I have to take the hub off to pull the cam shaft? This is my first time replacing cam bushings and the best I can tell is that I have to pull the axles and hubs. Anyone have any tips or tricks, or is it pretty straight forward? Let me know if there is any further info you may need.

krmvcs
Advanced Member

362 Posts

Posted - 02/12/2018 :  2:01:25 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Youre right about the axles and hubs and it is pretty straight forward. Those wheel bearings should be oil bath in the axle too if im not mistaken. Also, unless youve already bought tools for the bushings I made myself a cheap press tool out of some all thread and pvc unions. Have fun.

-Ken-
Go to Top of Page

valleybusman
Top Member

USA
807 Posts

Posted - 02/12/2018 :  2:34:11 PM  Show Profile  Send valleybusman an AOL message  Reply with Quote
Yes repack the bearing with grease !! It takes a little while to get the gear oil back to the hubs . I knew a guy who cleaned everything up . Looked real pretty . Drove about 1/8 of a mile and destroyed the whole rear end .
Go to Top of Page

scot1337

119 Posts

Posted - 02/12/2018 :  3:35:59 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks for the responses.

krmvcs-I haven't purchased any tool to install the bushings, I wasn't sure how they came out or went in yet.

valleybusman-I figured as much with repacking the bearings, I guess I was just looking for verification lol. I have heard similar horror stories about that.