Enter Forum: Safety Issues and Drivers' Concerns
 Pupil Transportation Handbook
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

rookiedriver

23 Posts

Posted - 05/16/2004 :  11:06:12 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am a new driver and our school disrtict does not provide transportation handbooks to our students. The kids are given school handbooks with brief rules for school bus safety included with other rules for school. Other districts in our county provide a transportation handbook for thier students. Would I be stepping on toes to suggest that we do the same? I am currantly a substitute driver and I don't want to over step my boundries. But most of the kids who I drive are unruley and do not know how to behave. I feel that a handbook would let the kids know what is expected of them to get them to school and home safely. I have some ideas for a transprtation handbook. Should I submit it to our district? If anyone has suggestions please let me know. Sub-Driver

Peter
Top Member

USA
1057 Posts

Posted - 05/17/2004 :  04:00:39 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I think that the fact that you are a substitute driver gives you a great reason to suggest a handbook for kids. You see them on the days when they think that it's OK to screw around and they can get away with it. Speak with the person in charge of safety at your bus garage and explain your ideas. Maybe you could use a behavior contract that the kids and parents have to sign and return so everyone will know that the kids have at least taken the handbook home to their parents? Go for it and good luck!

Spicer is nicer.
Go to Top of Page

JK
Top Member

USA
7307 Posts

Posted - 05/17/2004 :  1:04:40 PM  Show Profile  Visit JK's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by rookiedriver