Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 Fueling in The Winter Months
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

soundfx1970

5 Posts

Posted - 01/10/2003 :  07:00:30 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello I am a driver who works in New York and I have a question concerning Fueling in The Winter Months. Our General Manager is forcing every driver to fuel on Friday due to the two day weekend gap, he says that the tanks can cause condensation and effect the buses performance. I also realize that if there isn't enough fuel in the tanks the fuel can gel up, but when you only drive an average of 50 to 60 miles a day, is it really necessary to fuel up on that Friday instead of the Thursday before? What is your Opinion?

William Johnston

USA
135 Posts

Posted - 01/10/2003 :  12:16:06 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
To me it does not sound like it will matter either way, but he/she is the boss and it is little to ask.

William

Go to Top of Page

Rich
Top Member

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 01/10/2003 :  12:23:53 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello soundfx and welcome to SBF!!! Where do you drive in New York? (I am also a state resident)

Anyway, the contractor here also tries to make drivers fuel up on Friday's for the same reason. Of course, if you need to fill up before that, then do it.

---

School Bus Photos and Links: http://www.geocities.com/bluebird4eversbf

Go to Top of Page

Greyhairedoldsob

77 Posts

Posted - 01/12/2003 :  6:07:45 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The boss may be wrong, but he is still the boss!

As for having the tank full, it certainly can help prevent condensation, and if you do not have a plastic tank, rusting inside the tank.

As for fuel gelling, it is the fuel that gells, not the air in the tank. Gelled fuel in the tank does not hurt anything! It is because it is too "thick" to flow through the lines, filters, and pumps that causes us problems!