New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

bwest
Administrator

United States
3820 Posts

Posted - 02/21/2014 :  11:57:58 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have a 2005 CE200 that the brake lights function normally with key on, engine running but as soon as you turn the key off the brake light come on and stay on until the battery is down,. Any ideas?

Mechan1c
Top Member

USA
853 Posts

Posted - 02/21/2014 :  5:42:27 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hmmm...What happens key on engine off?
Go to Top of Page

C.HARDY
Advanced Member

354 Posts

Posted - 02/22/2014 :  7:29:43 PM  Show Profile  Click to see C.HARDY's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
You have some serious gremlins man......

"Hardybusman"
Go to Top of Page

misterbill
Advanced Member

United States
306 Posts

Posted - 02/23/2014 :  6:38:31 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm not a bus mechanic, but this makes no sense to me at all. Aren't the brake lights activated by a switch on the pedal? How could you have juice going to the lights with an open switch? Even if it was backfeeding the wrong way the switch would keep the circuit open. They aren't like air brakes where the air pressure activates the switch are they? Seriously, I think gremlins may be the correct answer.

High School Friend-"Hey! How are you! Well, I guess you can't be doing too well, you're driving a school bus."
Go to Top of Page

bwest
Administrator

United States
3820 Posts

Posted - 02/24/2014 :  07:45:25 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
This whole bus is a gremlin. lol Key on, engine off is same as engine running which is brake lights turn off. I do know I can take the brake light relay out and they go off. I can hear the relay clicking so I know the relay isn't stuck closed.

Bryan
Go to Top of Page

Fastback
Top Member

1500 Posts

Posted - 02/24/2014 :  08:07:52 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote