New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

misterbill
Advanced Member

United States
306 Posts

Posted - 02/21/2014 :  06:49:05 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have put over 7000 miles on my 2013 IC, and it has not called for a regen. I must mention that I only do trips, I am really a truck driver who drives a bus(I go to the same towns at my truck driving job that I do for my bus driving job). I am almost always running on the interstate or on a two lane road with a 45 speed limit. Often times when I stop at a light the exhaust temperature light comes on. I am guessing since I am pushing the bus this hard it is keeping the filter clean, but, I would have guessed that by 7000 miles I should have seen a regen.

Edited by - misterbill on 02/21/2014 06:52:27 AM

Oldiron

23 Posts

Posted - 02/21/2014 :  07:02:20 AM  Show Profile  Visit Oldiron's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Many of our units rarely require a driver activated regen, 7K is not a lot of miles. The units constantly passive regen thus the high exhaust temp light, there are no indicators of a passive regen except the high exhaust temp light. Sounds like the passive regen is working.
Go to Top of Page

Fastback
Top Member

1500 Posts

Posted - 02/21/2014 :  07:03:42 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Does not surprise me, we have some ICs with DPFs with over 50,000 miles that have never called for a manual regen. If the exhaust temp light is coming on occasionally, its doing its thing with passive regenerations.

Why yes, the ORIGinal CHARGER is a Fastback
Go to Top of Page

bus a groove

70 Posts

Posted - 02/21/2014 :  07:21:41 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It is completely normal. I would not expect the manual regen for awhile. We have 6 of these units with 40,000-50,000 miles and we have not had to do a manual regen yet.
Go to Top of Page

misterbill
Advanced Member

United States
306 Posts