New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

kevintee

United States
5 Posts

Posted - 03/30/2009 :  10:24:02 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Ha guys and gals,

I am a nu-be here but I do drive. I am the bus driver/maintenance man for a Boy Scout troop. We have a 1989 Bluebird on a GMC 6000 chassis. She has a 366 engine, 5 speed trans and split rear axle. I have all the exact specks at home they would help. We have a drive line vibration that starts around 55 MPH in 5th gear High range and continues through about 68 MPH. We have had all the shafts rebuilt and balanced which helped for a while.

I am a retired mechanic and know the shaft angles could make a big difference. I did not do much drive line work and am not real familiar with the angle setup however I do know how and have the tools to measure them.

Any thoughts.

We are also talking about changing the dif gears to pull the revs down some at highway speeds.

bwest
Administrator

United States
3820 Posts

Posted - 03/30/2009 :  12:02:27 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote