New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Landstryker

United States
2 Posts

Posted - 07/22/2007 :  06:25:45 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Good Morning,
Question and request from a newbie (did I hear a collective groan?), about a 1995 Carpenter Bus (flatnose- front engine) 72 passenger with a Cummins 6BT (5.9 l) engine and an automatic tranny. I just purchased the bus for family road trips (and to haul our dogs and musical equipment), so it needs to be reliable. I appear to have no major mechanical issues (just completed a 300+ mile trip from where I picked up the bus to home), runs fine, good temp, good oil pressure, etc. However, there are a lot of minor wiring issues, and a manual would really help. I know I could figure this out eventually (I am an engineer and restore old Diesel Mercedes for a hobby), but I also know every vehicle has some idiosyncrasies, and every brand has tricks and shortcuts to make things work better. I also have one specific issue with the brake booster. There is an electric pump mounted on the master cylinder, which also appears to be tied into the power steering system. I repaired the wiring going to the pump, got it working OK, but still have no brake assist, w/wo engine running (high-hard pedal, brakes will stop you, but takes all of my 260 lbs to do it). So, if anyone has/knows of a manual for this bus (or similar), or can point me in the right direction on the brake problem, it would be greatly appreciated, and I am certainly willing to pay for a manual in readable condition. Thanks in advance for your time and help.

Edited by - Landstryker on 07/22/2007 07:05:35 AM

sbfreader

153 Posts

Posted - 07/22/2007 :  06:37:42 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote