New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Nell65

USA
74 Posts

Posted - 12/16/2006 :  4:54:15 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Good evening everyone!

I have been reading everything I can lately to see how I can move up the ladder. I am a driver-10 years experience(took 11 off to raise kids and recently returned to driving). I got my college degree while I was home in Business/Hospitality-Tourism Management-AAS at the local community college. Did some more towards a BA-I have about 85 total credits.

Now that I am back in the business, I find I do want to do more in the transportation field. What should I think about as my first jumpoff point? What should I think about starting with? I did do a bit of dispatching way back when I did summer work for a private contractor. I'd really like to get my SBDI-eventually Master Instructor status. Problem is that our district I work for has always been top heavy with 19-A and SBDI's. There is little chance I'll be able again to go that route unless I switch district/outfits.

Any suggestions? I would really like to make a good go of it this go around and go up that proverbial ladder.

Thanks!
Nell

JK
Top Member

USA
7307 Posts

Posted - 12/17/2006 :  01:43:43 AM  Show Profile  Visit JK's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Your use of lingo leaves your post a bit confusing to read.

Is it a trainer's position, dispatch, transportation director or an assistant TD position you are seeking? If your current employer is top heavy, then can you move to another area, perhaps even to another state?

I've wondered on occasion if there is a network for TD's, trainers and bus drivers like there is for administrators and teachers. Most school districts have Websites with job information and the state dept. of ed. often has links to school districts. Could start searching those sites for openings in areas that interest you.
Hope this helps. (jk)

FREE School Bus Safety Ads & Photo Library