Low pay for driving.
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Nell65

USA
74 Posts

Posted - 04/09/2006 :  1:47:56 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote

I have been researching driving again. I've had my license since 86. Stopped driving in 95 when my kids started school. I've been looking into driving with private contractors. I've got a bit more flexiblity with them in terms of driving times since I still have one in elementary school myself. The problem is that the jobs are all starting at the bottom. $8-10 a hour. What's up with that? I've got 9 years on a big bus. No tickets or points in over 22 years on my license. What gives? Is that how it is now to get back into driving? Starting out like I've never done it before? Figured it would be a way to make a bit more money than what I've got my degree in, but that's not much better than working retail for the pay around here.

I guess I'll hold out a bit longer to find something. I guess they figure you've forgotten everything or something, but I've never had to go backwards for pay before. Any suggestions?

Nell

kd4jfd
Top Member

USA
1168 Posts

Posted - 04/09/2006 :  2:06:29 PM  Show Profile  Click to see kd4jfd's MSN Messenger address  Send kd4jfd a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
How about $6/hr? That's what we get paid.
Go to Top of Page

Rich
Top Member

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 04/09/2006 :  2:21:00 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
$8-10 here in New York. That's rediculous. What contractor is paying that in this area? If I recall you are from Dutchess. Is that A&E? I'm in Dutchess as well, and I believe First Student is paying in the $15/hr range. Wappingers CSD pays very well too I was told.

Go to Top of Page

buster133
Top Member

USA
512 Posts

Posted - 04/09/2006 :  2:35:45 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote