Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 what ic engine would you buy
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

mr.bluebird

United States
44 Posts

Posted - 01/12/2011 :  8:51:46 PM  Show Profile  Visit mr.bluebird's Homepage  Reply with Quote
would you buy the maxforce dt or the maxforce7 and why ??
any info will help thanks .

Jake
Top Member

USA
3527 Posts

Posted - 01/12/2011 :  8:55:04 PM  Show Profile  Visit Jake's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Obviously the DT is considered better, but for the people on budgets, they usually go with the 7.
Go to Top of Page

RichBusman
Advanced Member

453 Posts

Posted - 01/12/2011 :  9:14:07 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Neither.
Go to Top of Page

IBTMech
Top Member

USA
973 Posts

Posted - 01/12/2011 :  9:23:44 PM  Show Profile  Visit IBTMech's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I've been working on DT466s since the late 1970s and for many years I considered them the best mid-range diesel engine on the market. Then came the DT466E and now I'm not so sure. We've had a lot of liner seal and injector seal issues which were not a problem in the older engines.

The next generation VG turbos have been a headache. So far the Maxxforce DTs have been reliable tho we are watching an '09 for possible fuel dilution. The jury is still out.

The V8s are junk IMHO.

If it doesn't fit, FORCE it.
If it breaks, well, it needed replacing anyway.
Pullin' wrenches for 45 years.

Edited by - IBTMech on 01/12/2011 9:25:09 PM
Go to Top of Page

Bassman
Top Member

USA
558 Posts

Posted - 01/13/2011 :  02:45:23 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote