Stafford County wants to start charging Students to ride the Bus
TheLink
http://www.fredericksburg.com/News/FLS/2006/052006/05042006/188630

80-RE4
Top Member

USA
5700 Posts

Posted - 05/10/2006 :  09:48:20 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I think it's the new way now. Free transportation seems to be heading out the door. Several school districts that I drive for, already do that. They say it's supposed to save teaching jobs, but they are laying off jobs anyways.
Go to Top of Page

IC RE 1629
Top Member

United States
5097 Posts

Posted - 05/10/2006 :  12:32:49 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
From a student standpoint, I say no way!
Go to Top of Page

Buskid
Top Member

USA
3368 Posts

Posted - 05/10/2006 :  1:41:50 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
This isn't anything new for some of us. When I was a student, it cost $182.50 per semester, or $365.00 per school year, for a bus pass. Each student was guaranteed a ride to school, but if you wanted to ride the bus home from school, you were required to purchase a bus pass.
Go to Top of Page

IC-RE
Top Member

USA
4117 Posts

Posted - 05/10/2006 :  2:01:28 PM  Show Profile  Visit IC-RE's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I think it is a good idea, it would be a way to generate a little extra revenue for the county, possibly to purchase new better buses, or even send the money to the classrooms, I say it is a clever idea.

bus 1980, a 2008 IC RE 300 for Fairfax County Public Schools, Fairfax, Virginia.
Go to Top of Page

Steven A.Rosenow
Top Member

USA
1926 Posts

Posted - 05/10/2006 :  3:22:47 PM  Show Profile  Visit Steven A.Rosenow's Homepage  Send Steven A.Rosenow an AOL message  Send Steven A.Rosenow a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
The only district I've ever attended that did that was Tacoma, and it wasn't very expensive.

I'm against it, though.. Not only should the funding exist already by either taxes or grants, but not every family could afford to pay that much.