New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

busfan88

USA
2 Posts

Posted - 12/12/2003 :  1:58:47 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi all,

I am a high school student and a bus fan. This is probably due to the fact that my bus driver is a very interesting character.

The speed governor on her bus does not let her go past 45 mph. When she is going down hills on the highway, she shifts into neutral and can reach 60 mph by the end of the hill. The speed governor is not activated when the bus is not in drive. Also, she goes into third gear for 10 seconds so the RPMs increase, goes back into drive, and shoots forward much faster. Then, of course, she is back in neutral for the remainder of the hill. This is my analysis of what she does.

She has told me that she speeds because she wants to get us home faster, but that is only partially true. She races other bus on the highway. The other drivers do not shift gears and she is able to pass them by using third and neutral gear. She has to use the center lane of the three-lane highway to get around them. Sometimes she uses an exit lane, passes the bus, and merges back in before the exit. She has a lot of fun with this.

Is my analysis accurate? Is this bad for the transmission? Is this a common way to get around the speed governor?

PHW
Top Member

USA
1345 Posts

Posted - 12/12/2003 :  2:13:05 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Ummmmm, Ill bite. Yes, she is a interesting charactor. Tell me, do you feel safe on this bus?

PHW

Child Check For Life
Chock Wheels For Life
Proud American For Life
Go to Top of Page

littlebit
Advanced Member

431 Posts

Posted - 12/12/2003 :  6:00:16 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
She maybe having fun, but she sounds like she is putting children's lives at risk.

Bus 34
Go to Top of Page

Jim
Top Member

USA
581 Posts

Posted - 12/12/2003 :  6:28:30 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote