Air Door Troubles
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

largebus
Advanced Member

USA
468 Posts

Posted - 12/05/2002 :  5:30:59 PM  Show Profile  Visit largebus's Homepage  Send largebus an AOL message  Reply with Quote
While I am not a mechanic or technician I was curious about a recent trouble. The arrival of cold weather and harsh winter conditions in Western NY is wreaking havoc on several buses-the new ones only. The air doors are freezing consistently, causing buses to arrive over 15 minutes late for 3 consistent days. What recommendations would any of you have for this air door problem? The buses themselves are running but the doors simply freeze and a bus with two open doors is "broken down". What are your recommendations?

Logan C. Geen
Future Superintendent of Schools

Rich
Top Member

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 12/05/2002 :  5:41:13 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Just wondering. What bus brand are these buses? I've never heard of this happening, but perhaps it has to do with the high pressure from the cold air?

---

Unwrap the School Bus Within You!

http://www.geocities.com/bluebird4eversbf

Go to Top of Page

largebus
Advanced Member

USA
468 Posts

Posted - 12/05/2002 :  5:50:23 PM  Show Profile  Visit largebus's Homepage  Send largebus an AOL message  Reply with Quote
Most are AmTrans that are maybe 2 or 3 years old at most. However, the 5 new Blue Bird buses that arrived this year (which run like a dream compared to the AmTrans, half of which didn't start when they arrived, and are otherwise nice buses) are also experiencing the same problems.

Logan C. Geen
Go to Top of Page

KMM
Advanced Member

USA
271 Posts

Posted - 12/05/2002 :  6:58:45 PM  Show Profile  Send KMM a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote