School Bus Fleet Magazine Forums
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 General Interest
 Enter Forum: General Interest
 need info for school project (please help)
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

goosedump

6 Posts

Posted - 03/22/2002 :  8:49:46 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi, I'm doing a business proposal for a school project. It would be greatly appreciated if I could get some answers from some experts. First of all my business proposal, to give you an idea of what is needed.

My business proposal is one that brings university students around the Waterloo Ontario Canada area for groceries and such. It also provides services to bring students back to Toronto on a weekend basis.

I am fairly new to the topic of buses. What I was thinking of was a schoolbus that could carry around 50 people with a price of < $100,000. I need to do a cost-profit analysis so I need to keep costs down. The following answers would be appreciated.

1) What kind of bus would suite my business proposal?

2) What are some brand names (for buses) are high quality and what are low quality?

3) What is the lifetime of a bus depending on brand, quality, milage?

4) What are reasonable prices? What are high, what are low?

5) Are there any "must see" web-pages regarding the subject?

6) Is it reasonable to assume that high quality buses have a longer life time?

Thank you very much!

Rich
Top Member

United States
5768 Posts

Posted - 03/22/2002 :  9:25:36 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Welcome to SBF Goosedump (lol) ,

You have many excellent questions that can easily be answered by many of my fellow SBF members.

quote:

Well, really anything, such as a conventional bus (with a chassis [cowl]), or a Type-D bus (flat nosed, or as some folks say "flat front.") I would reccommend a Type-D Rear Engine, due to optimal performance, and a long life span. A 65-Passenger bus would be perfect.