2000 Amtran wit a T444e Questions
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Mark23290

United States
96 Posts

Posted - 07/22/2010 :  2:40:10 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm a contractor and have to replace my bus for this new contract. Can any of you guys give me some insight on the 2000 Amtran has a 444 in it.

It has juice brakes insted of air so I wonder about that as well?

How well does the 444 stand up service wise?

Thanks

BJ Henderson
Advanced Member

USA
280 Posts

Posted - 07/22/2010 :  4:35:50 PM  Show Profile  Send BJ Henderson an AOL message  Reply with Quote
Depends on whether it came from a state that used chemicals on the roads in winter as to whether or not it is worth anything at this point. The engine may have a lot of life left in it and trans, too. The rust will eat up brake lines on that brake system, and everything else under the bus. Look good before you leap!

CMTT,CMAT,CMBT
Go to Top of Page

Mark23290

United States
96 Posts

Posted - 07/22/2010 :  6:21:00 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I think it came out of South Dakota. One of the corporation mechanics said that the 444's are junk said they just replaced all of what they had left.? I'm in Indiana and he said you will go through brakes alot more then air brakes. Any more input greatly appreciated.

Go to Top of Page

BJ Henderson
Advanced Member

USA
280 Posts

Posted - 07/22/2010 :  6:49:33 PM  Show Profile  Send BJ Henderson an AOL message  Reply with Quote
Yep, you will go through more brakes for sure. I assume that it has 4 wheel disc.
Still, I have no idea if SD uses chemicals to control snow and ice. Look under the bus very closely to see how much rust you do have.