The Ford That Will Never Die
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

B. Busguy33
Top Member

USA
3444 Posts

Posted - 09/12/2005 :  5:28:00 PM  Show Profile  Visit B. Busguy33's Homepage  Send B. Busguy33 an AOL message  Send B. Busguy33 a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
My question pertains to a 1997 Ford/Thomas (manufactured in the summer of 1996), with a 5.9 Cummins (I think), air brakes, and an AT-545 automatic transmission.

I was driving an afternoon route for another location about 30 minutes away from me, and after my afternoon route, when I returned to the bus yard, there was a Ford/Thomas on the lot that was running. I went inside, and the dispatcher informed they could not shut this bus off. She had three other guys in the lot try to figure out how to shut it off, and no one came up with any ideas.

I decided to check the bus out for myself. When I got inside I found no fuel shut-off lever. I am not a mechanic, so I did not know what to look for under the hood. But, sure enough, the bus was running and it had a full tank of fuel to boot.

Do any of you have any ideas how this bus could be turned off, or what the cause of this would be? I didn't think buses that new would have a fuel shut-off lever. If it did, I did not see one and the dispatcher told me they could not fine one either. I would appreciate any advice you could provide for me.

--------