DOT Forms Committee on Automation

Posted on January 13, 2017
A new committee will address the development and deployment of automated vehicles and the DOT’s related research and regulations. Seen here is a Google self-driving car prototype.
A new committee will address the development and deployment of automated vehicles and the DOT’s related research and regulations. Seen here is a Google self-driving car prototype.

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) is establishing a new advisory committee focused on automation across multiple modes.

The committee is slated to hold its first meeting on Monday. According to the DOT, the group will work on some of the most pressing matters facing transportation today, including the development and deployment of automated vehicles, and determining the needs of the DOT as it continues with its related research, policy, and regulations.

“During my time at the department, we have fostered some of the most significant technological changes to ever take place in transportation, and we did so while keeping our focus on the safety of the American people,” outgoing U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx said. ”This new automation committee will work to advance lifesaving innovations while boosting our economy and making our transportation network more fair, reliable, and efficient.”

According to the DOT, as technology develops, automation may play a larger role in a number of modes of transportation, including cars, buses, trains, planes, and UAS (drone) systems. The automation committee is tasked with sharing best practices, challenges, and opportunities and opening lines of communication so that stakeholders can learn and adapt based on feedback from each other.

Here are the committee members:

1. Co-chair: Mary Barra, General Motors, chairman and CEO
2. Co-chair: Eric Garcetti, mayor of Los Angeles
3. Vice chair: Dr. J. Chris Gerdes, Stanford University, professor of engineering
4. Gloria Boyland, FedEx, corporate vice president, operations and service support
5. Robin Chase, co-founder of Zipcar and Veniam
6. Douglas Chey, Hyperloop One, senior vice president of systems development
7. Henry Claypool, Community Living Policy Center, policy director
8. Mick Cornett, mayor of Oklahoma City
9. Mary “Missy” Cummings, Duke University, director, Humans and Autonomy Lab, Pratt School of Engineering
10. Dean Garfield, Information Technology Industry Council, president and CEO
11. Mary Gustanski, Delphi Automotive, vice president of engineering and program management
12. Debbie Hersman, National Safety Council, president and CEO
13. Rachel Holt, Uber, regional general manager, U.S. and Canada
14. Lisa Jackson, Apple, vice president of environment, policy, and social initiatives
15. Tim Kentley-Klay, Zoox, co-founder and CEO
16. John Krafcik, Waymo, CEO
17. Gerry Murphy, Amazon, senior corporate counsel, aviation
18. Robert Reich, University of California, Berkeley, chancellor's professor of public policy, Richard and Rhoda Goldman School of Public Policy
19. Keller Rinaudo, Zipline International, CEO
20. Chris Spear, American Trucking Associations, president and CEO
21. Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger, Safety Reliability Methods Inc., founder and CEO
22. Bryant Walker Smith, University of South Carolina, assistant professor, School of Law and (by courtesy) School of Engineering
23. Jack Weekes, State Farm Insurance, operations vice president, innovation team
24. Ed Wytkind, AFL-CIO, president, transportation trades department
25. John Zimmer, Lyft, co-founder and president

Related Topics: autonomous vehicles

Comments ( 0 )
More Stories

VIDEO: School Bus Danger Zone Awareness

This dramatization from Georgia, based on a true story, teaches students about safely boarding and exiting the school bus — including what to do if they drop something.

Two bills that are intended to address school bus safety in the wake of a fatal crash in November have advanced in the Tennessee House of Representatives. One would raise the minimum age for new school bus drivers, and the other would require "a restraint system" on school buses.

Tennessee School Bus Bills Advance

A bill that would raise the minimum age for new school bus drivers in the state passes unanimously in the House. Another bill that would require restraints on school buses passes a committee vote.

Planning has begun for the 17th National Congress on School Transportation (NCST) in 2020. Murrell Martin and Bill Loshbough are shown here leading a discussion at NCST 2015.

NCST 2020 Planning Begins

Planning for the 17th National Congress on School Transportation is now in the works, with committee members being re-established and selected through this summer.

Be the First to Know

Get the latest news and most popular articles from SBF delivered straight to your inbox. Stay on top of the school bus industry and don't miss a thing!