Bus drivers for North Carolina districts honored

Posted on June 6, 2013

MOUNT AIRY, N.C. — A banquet was recently held at a middle school here to celebrate the bus drivers who serve three school systems, Mount Airy News reports.

The drivers gathered with other members of the transportation team, school administrators and representatives from the three school systems — Surry County Schools, Mount Airy City Schools and Elkin City Schools — as well as Surry County Schools’ board of education. During the event, which included music and other entertainment, Tim Burton was named driver of the year for 2012-13. Burton is a driver for Surry County Schools, and he has 30 years of safe driving experience.

Director of Transportation Rodney Hardy recognized other drivers who have more than 20 years of safe driving as well, and 2012-13 school bus drivers of the year for each school were also recognized.

To read the full story, click here.

Related Topics: morale, North Carolina

Comments ( 0 )
More Stories

Rhode Island School Bus Driver Strike Ends

First Student and the drivers’ union agree on a contract that includes enhanced healthcare and retirement benefits as well as increased wages, ending an 11-day strike.

Toby McGraw is taking on the newly created role of senior vice president of sales at HopSkipDrive.

HopSkipDrive Names New Executive

Toby McGraw takes on the newly created role of senior vice president of sales. He will lead public and private partnership sales and account management.


VIDEO: Creating Customized Financial Solutions for Your Fleet

Rill’s Bus Service in Westminster, Maryland, has been in the school bus business for 50 years. Learn how they utilize flexible financing options through Daimler Truck Financial to keep their business thriving. For more information, visit

Be the First to Know

Get the latest news and most popular articles from SBF delivered straight to your inbox. Stay on top of the school bus industry and don't miss a thing!