Professional Garage
 Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 MVP-ER Turbo Removal
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

jmar896

2 Posts

Posted - 11/03/2019 :  10:53:09 AM  Show Profile  Visit jmar896's Homepage  Reply with Quote
A local organization one of my friends is a part of was offered a 2001 Thomas Saf-T-Liner MVP-ER with a blown turbo. The bus has a CAT 3126 engine with a MD3060 transmission. It has air brakes and a Webasto coolant preheater.

The guy that offered it to them had paperwork from a mobile tech that indicated that the oil seals on the turbo were bad, so he parked it and has not used it for 2 years as the quote for repair was about $2k ($1100 for the turbo, $950 for the labor, plus oil, air filter & oil filter but that's a drop in the bucket). In the past I worked on paratransit buses and plow trucks (I am a mechanic that does primarily specialized equipment but I do a bit of everything), so my friend reached out to me to see if I could do the turbo. The bus was right off the highway on my way home, so I stopped by to take a very quick look. It seems like it is in decent shape, rust is not too bad, ect.

I know that the biggest variable to replacing the turbo is getting to it. On this bus the radiator is on that side, looks like it is fairly wedged in there. I didn't have enough time to take a super comprehensive look, so I was wondering if anyone had any idea what needs to come out to get to it, and how long it might take?

Also, if there is anything else I should look for while I am replacing it let me know! Believe it or not the 3126 is a little before my time...

Edited by - jmar896 on 11/03/2019 11:26:20 AM

Bluenozer
Top Member

Canada
640 Posts

Posted - 11/04/2019 :  02:35:57 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I know on coaches (prevost, MCI) the rad is on hinges and you open it like a door to access engine