Professional Garage
 Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 2005 DT466
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

jmeyer92

19 Posts

Posted - 05/01/2019 :  04:34:55 AM  Show Profile  Visit jmeyer92's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hello everyone. I'm fairly new to the busing world, just started back in November. So, please have a little patience with my being a newby.

I have a 2007 IC with a 2005 DT466 in it (still think it's crazy how long it is between production date and model year). There has been a problem with the bus since the school district that my company got it from, has owned it. It takes at least double the time to start it compared to all of my other buses. On average it takes 14 seconds of cranking before it even tries to fire. Other than that it runs perfectly. I've seen a few threads with people having the same issues with this year of the DT466, but never any true answers as to what is going on. The kicker that we have found with this bus, and it makes absolutely no sense, is the fact that if you feather the pedal it starts right away, just like the other buses.

Has anyone experienced anything like this? With it being fly-by-wire and direct injection, feathering the pedal should have absolutely no effect. Is there something that I'm missing? Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

RonF
Top Member

867 Posts

Posted - 05/01/2019 :  06:35:27 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
You would really need a laptop to help you in this. You would need to know ICP pressure while cranking, engine oil pressure, fuel pressure, ect. There are quit a few things to cause this.

US Army retired CMBT
Go to Top of Page

unclefish

113 Posts

Posted - 05/01/2019 :  07:56:45 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Does it have 2 group 31 batteries or 3 . a lot of ours came with 2 and we added the 3rd seems to help and even better in the winter.
Go to Top of Page

jmeyer92

19 Posts