Professional Garage
 Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 State safety inspections?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

khpayne

13 Posts

Posted - 11/24/2021 :  09:38:53 AM  Show Profile  Visit khpayne's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I am writing to see if the states you live in require buses to pass a state regulated safety inspection every year? the reason I ask is because in Texas all licensed vehicles have to be inspected once a year to be registered . There is a person running for Governor that wants to do away with the state vehicle inspections. in my opinion we need to keep the inspections. I am wondering what is don in states where there isn't a state mandated yearly inspection ?

g0ttadrift
Advanced Member

USA
258 Posts

Posted - 11/24/2021 :  09:45:59 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I've been a school bus mechanic in Ohio for 10 years now and I agree, we need the yearly inspections. I think if we didn't have the inspections, the school districts would run them until the frames broke or the floors rotted through. The inspections not only hold the mechanics accountable for their work, they hold the school districts accountable to provide decent and safe transportation.
Go to Top of Page

Bluenozer
Top Member

Canada
644 Posts

Posted - 11/24/2021 :  10:16:02 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Here in Nova Scotia Canada, a government ran agency inspects or buses every 6 months and we have to do a full brake report(take apart and measure, replace as needed) once a year

OEM trained in wiring and all engine platforms for over 20 years
Go to Top of Page

40ngone

USA
166 Posts

Posted - 11/24/2021 :  10:17:39 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote