Most versatile tech certification?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

forbushd

USA
13 Posts

Posted - 06/05/2019 :  05:04:04 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello all! I’ve been a school bus driver for 4 1/2 years now. Over the past few weeks, I’ve been working with our fleet technician doing routine maintenance (oil changes, grease jobs, 60-day inspections, etc.). I’ve been interested in the field for a while, and I’d like to start working toward certification so I can be a full-fledged technician.

The question is, what would be the most useful certification I can get? Our entire fleet is diesel, but other districts in our area have been switching entirely to propane, and I think ours will likely head that way in the future. (I’m in my early 20’s, so I’ve got a long time to prepare for.) I’m not sure if a certification in diesel repair is very applicable to propane/gasoline applications, but I’m also not sure if a certification in general automotive repair is sufficient for fixing the diesel buses.

What would you all recommend?

RonF
Top Member

867 Posts

Posted - 06/05/2019 :  05:57:08 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
ASE school bus certification.

https://www.ase.com/Tests.aspx

US Army retired CMBT
Go to Top of Page

aaronwilmoth80911
Top Member

538 Posts

Posted - 06/05/2019 :  10:22:58 AM  Show Profile  Visit aaronwilmoth80911's Homepage  Reply with Quote
If you can get into a community college program for auto/diesel, it would help a lot. Don't waste a ton of money on schools like Wyotech or UTI. Get on the job training and go to classes and eventually work you way towards you ASEs like Ron said.
Go to Top of Page

RonF
Top Member

867 Posts

Posted - 06/05/2019 :  11:02:46 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote