Professional Garage
 Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 2011 IC CE Problems
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

ICboy95

7 Posts

Posted - 10/31/2011 :  3:38:49 PM  Show Profile  Visit ICboy95's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi. My bus driver, and good friend, has been having problems with her new bus and i joined the forum, hoping to possibly fix it. Let me start by saying i love buses. I don't know why, but i have just always been fascinated by them. I'm currently a sophomore in high school.

Well enough about that. For the past 3 weeks or so, we will being driving and a yellow warning light will appear on the dash. We arent sure what it means, but i think it has something to do with emission control, as it looks like exhaust. Well, when it comes on, after about 5 to 10 seconds, the bus will just drop to an idol. This is all while we are driving might i add. At first, we would stop in the middle of the road and restart it, and it would go like it never happened. After about a week, it started doing this 5 to 6 times just in one 10 mile trip. The driver found a way around it by shifting to neutral as soon as the light comes on and coasting for about 15 seconds, then shifting back into gear, which i assume is not good for the transmission because it makes a horrible clanking noise when she presses the gas. She took it to the garage on friday and they replaced some kind of filter in the exhaust system and said that would fix it. Well today it continues to shut down the same, if even more, than ever.

Sorry about the long post. I just want to find the cause of this problem. Oh almost forgot, the bus is a 2011 IC CE maxxforce 7. Not sure of the engine type though.

Mechan1c
Top Member

USA
853 Posts

Posted - 10/31/2011 :  4:28:08 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote