The Honorable Jennifer L. Homendy was sworn in as the National Transportation Safety Board’s...

The Honorable Jennifer L. Homendy was sworn in as the National Transportation Safety Board’s 15th Chair, Friday, by Alfonso Montaño, the NTSB’s Chief Administrative Law Judge (right), during an outdoor ceremony at NTSB Headquarters. Board Member Michael Graham (center) held Homendy’s family Bible for the ceremony.

NTSB photo by James Anderson

The Honorable Jennifer L. Homendy took the oath of office during an outdoor ceremony held at NTSB headquarters, in which she was sworn in as the 15th Chair of the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB).

Alfonso Montaño, the NTSB’s Chief Administrative Law Judge, administered the oath and presided over the ceremony.

Homendy was nominated by President Joe Biden May 19, and she testified in a June 24 confirmation hearing before the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation. Homendy was unanimously confirmed by the Senate Aug. 9. NTSB Vice Chairman Bruce Landsberg, who served as the acting chairman since July 1, returns to his position as the NTSB’s Vice Chairman.

“We are in a time of dynamic change and growth within transportation — from automated vehicles to commercial space,” said Homendy. “This means that our mission to prevent tragedies and injuries and save lives is even more critical. The country needs a robust and energetic NTSB to ensure safety is well represented in all modes of transportation. I look forward to supporting our outstanding staff and their work as we endeavor to make transportation safer for all.”

A longtime advocate for safety, Homendy joined the NTSB Aug. 20, 2018, after 14 years of service as the Democratic Staff Director of the Subcommittee on Railroads, Pipelines, and Hazardous Materials, which is under the jurisdiction of the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure (T&I Committee) of the U.S. House of Representatives. She previously held positions with the International Brotherhood of Teamsters, the Transportation Trades Department of the AFL-CIO, and the American Iron and Steel Institute. She is the fourth woman to lead the NTSB and one of 11 women who have served as board members.

Originally posted on Metro Magazine