ORLANDO, Fla. — Allied Specialty Vehicles (ASV) has formed a new bus division and has appointed Kent Tyler — former president of Collins Bus Corp. — to the role of president and CEO for the new group.

The new ASV Bus Division will include Type A school bus brands Collins, Mid Bus and Corbeil. ASV recently completed the acquisition of Thor Industries’ bus business, which brings seven more brands into the ASV Bus Division: Champion Bus Inc., General Coach America Inc., Goshen Coach Inc., ElDorado National California Inc., ElDorado National Kansas Inc., Krystal Coach and Federal Coach.

“With our recent investment of seven new bus brands, ASV is now one of the largest suppliers of buses in North America,” said Jim Meyer, chief operating officer of ASV. “The formation of the new Bus Division will help make the transition into the ASV family as smooth as possible for not only these companies, but also their dealers and customers. We are thrilled about the opportunities the new Bus Division represents, and excited to have these outstanding brands under the leadership of Kent Tyler.”

Tyler spent 15 years with Collins Industries, the last five as president of its bus division. In 2012, he was named president and CEO of E-ONE, an ASV company that manufactures fire apparatus.

Tyler said that he is “thrilled and honored” to lead the new ASV Bus Division.

“I look forward to working with all the bus companies and their respective dealer organizations and customers,” he said. “As one of the largest suppliers of buses in North America, it’s critical the ASV Bus Division be synonymous with providing innovative products, outstanding customer service, and the most focused and comprehensive distribution network in the industry.”

Tyler succeeds Andrew Imanse, group president of ElDorado, Champion and Goshen, who recently retired from Thor Industries, the former owner of those bus companies. Imanse has agreed to serve as the chairman of the ASV Bus Division advisory board and to continue supporting the bus operations through an extended transition period.

Tyler is succeeded at E-ONE by Dan Peters, who has served as president of Collins Bus Corp. since February of this year.

About the author
Thomas McMahon

Thomas McMahon

Executive Editor

Thomas had covered the pupil transportation industry with School Bus Fleet since 2002. When he's not writing articles about yellow buses, he enjoys running long distances and making a joyful noise with his guitar.

View Bio