ALEXANDRIA, Va. — The National School Transportation Association (NSTA) announced the 2014 recipients of its School Bus Driver International Safety Competition Scholarship Program. The program awards up to $1,000 for continuing educational opportunities to drivers or children of drivers in the competition each year.

To enter, the applicant or parent of the applicant must have competed in the 2014 School Bus Driver International Safety Competition, which was held in Charleston, South Carolina, on July 20. In addition, the driver in the competition must have been employed by the same school district or school bus company for at least 12 months prior to the application date and must still be employed by the same district or school bus contractor at the time of the award.  

The 2014 School Bus Driver International Safety Competition Scholarship winners are:  

•    Brian Lyons of Canandaigua, New York
•    Lisa Loring of Otis, Oregon
•    Melanie Nelson of Bothell, Washington
•    Gina Palmieri of Oak Ridge, New Jersey
•    Harley High of Industry, Maine  
"We congratulate each of this year's winners on their accomplishments,” said NSTA President Tim Flood. “There was a lot of interest in this year's scholarship awards and we thank everyone who applied. We look forward to next year's competition as well as offering the scholarship opportunity again in 2015."

Other recent news related to NSTA:

•    NSTA honors industry excellence at annual conference

About the author
Staff Writer

Staff Writer


Our team of enterprising editors brings years of experience covering the fleet industry. We offer a deep understanding of trends and the ever-evolving landscapes we cover in fleet, trucking, and transportation.  

View Bio