ARDEN HILLS, Minn. — School bus drivers from across the state gathered here to put their knowledge and skills to the test in the 2015 Minnesota School Bus Roadeo.

Drivers competed in one of three categories: conventional (Type C), transit (Type D) or small bus (Type A). Along with operating one of those types of school buses on a skills course, the competition included a written exam on school bus rules and laws.

Eighty-six drivers took part in this year’s competition, which was held on May 30 at a Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services exam station in Arden Hills.

The first-place competitor in each category advances to the 2015 School Bus Driver International Safety Competition in Minneapolis next month.

Here are the top contestants in the Minnesota competition:

Small Bus
1st — Pauline Kish, First Student Minnetonka
2nd — Gloria Flor, Crosby-Ironton Transportation
3rd — Mary Timm, First Student Anoka

1st — Rhonda Bitzer, American Transportation
2nd — Cheryl Johnson, Voyageur Bus Co.
3rd — Allen Pawlitschek, American Transportation

1st — Dena Delcastillo, First Student White Bear Lake
2nd — Jodie Jagodzinski, Metropolitan Transportation Network
3rd — Dina Klein, First Student White Bear Lake

Rookie Winner
Greg Christian, Durham School Services

About the author
Staff Writer

Staff Writer


Our team of enterprising editors brings years of experience covering the fleet industry. We offer a deep understanding of trends and the ever-evolving landscapes we cover in fleet, trucking, and transportation.  

View Bio