WALL, N.J. — Student Transportation Inc. (STI) is celebrating National School Bus Safety Week by holding its 6th annual Anti-Bullying Awareness initiative, which runs throughout October, and inducting 15 new members into its Safety Wall of Fame.

"We believe that safety awareness is an ongoing process, not a one-time event," said Don Weir, director of passenger safety and compliance for STI and its family of companies. "So we view National School Bus Safety Week as just another way we can highlight the safety education and best practices that we train our drivers on year round."

STI's 150-plus locations throughout the U.S. and Canada will hold safety meetings with customers, demonstrations with local officials, including highway patrols, and online safety training courses through its learning management system this week.

The company also kicked off the month with Blue Shirt Day on Oct. 3. STI's drivers, dispatchers, mechanics, and others wore blue shirts and will continue to wear them throughout the month to show solidarity against bullying, on and off the school bus.

Additionally, STI has announced its 4th annual Safety Wall of Fame recipients, an honor bestowed on employees who have gone above and beyond the regular scope of their duties by displaying an outstanding commitment to safety.

Employees were nominated over the past several months by managers at the company's locations across North America. Nominees were held to the highest criteria of safety and performance, including accident-free service within their role, exceptional performance of their duties, knowledge of company safety policies and procedures, reliability, and community involvement, according to the company.

This year's inductees into the Safety Wall of Fame are:

•    Carol Ward: Apollo-Ridge, Pennsylvania                                   
•    Cristina Peredo: Visalia, California
•    David Martin II: Washington, Vermont                                  
•    Deborah DeVillez: Griswold, Connecticut
•    Edward Lamp: Girard, Pennsylvania                                  
•    James Nickelberry: Ontario, California
•    Jose Torres: San Jose, California                                  
•    Kermit Belzer: Lago Vista, Texas
•    Lilyan DeVito: Springfield, Pennsylvania                                  
•    Melodie Fitzpatrick: Danbury, Connecticut
•    Patricia Kovalik: Waterford, Connecticut                                  
•    Regina Fronteras: Meridian, Idaho
•    Robin Reeves: Burleson, Texas                                  
•    Ron Vance: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
•    Veronica Cantarero: Los Angeles, California         

About the author
Staff Writer

Staff Writer


Our team of enterprising editors brings years of experience covering the fleet industry. We offer a deep understanding of trends and the ever-evolving landscapes we cover in fleet, trucking, and transportation.  

View Bio