Top contestants in the 2015 Minnesota School Bus Roadeo display their trophies.

Minnesota school bus drivers showcase skills

Eighty-six drivers from across the state take part in the 2015 Minnesota School Bus Roadeo, which tests competitors’ driving skills and their knowledge of school bus rules.

On July 20, 100 contestants competed in one of three categories: conventional, small bus, or transit.  Pictured here are buses used in the small bus category at West Ashley High School in Charleston, South Carolina.

3 previous winners take top spots in bus safety competition

At the 44th Annual School Bus Driver International Safety Competition, hosted in Charleston, South Carolina, by the National School Transportation Association, three previous winners again take top spots: Billy Wiseman of West Virginia, in the conventional category; Russell Alitzer of Virginia, in the small bus category; and John Welsh of Pennsylvania, in the transit category.

Kimberly Venable (second from left) of Englewood Schools won the CSPTA Operations Person of the Year award. Also pictured, from left, is CSPTA President Nicole Portee, President-Elect Lance Yoxsimer and Englewood Director of Operations David Henderson.

Top pupil transporters, bus techs honored in Colorado

The Colorado State Pupil Transportation Association holds school bus roadeo and technician contests at its annual conference. Also awarded, posthumously, is a Colorado school bus driver who was fatally struck by a pickup truck last winter.

Be the First to Know

Get the latest news and most popular articles from SBF delivered straight to your inbox. Stay on top of the school bus industry and don't miss a thing!