School Bus Contractors

School bus driver award brings crowd to tears

Thomas McMahon
Posted on June 30, 2014
Winners of the Minnesota School Bus Operators Association’s 2014 Transportation Specialist Awards, from left: Alfred Miller, Don Puetz, Bob Janes, Patty Schunemann and Kim Arnold.

Winners of the Minnesota School Bus Operators Association’s 2014 Transportation Specialist Awards, from left: Alfred Miller, Don Puetz, Bob Janes, Patty Schunemann and Kim Arnold.

GRAND RAPIDS, Minn. — There wasn’t a dry eye in the room when the Minnesota School Bus Operators Association (MSBOA) handed out its annual awards earlier this month.

It was a particularly emotional moment when Don Puetz was in the spotlight. The longtime school bus driver has shown remarkable dedication and care for his students. For example, he keeps granola bars on his bus for any students who haven't had breakfast.

A young woman who rode Puetz’s bus from first grade through high school wrote a letter of recommendation in which she recounted how Puetz had helped her and befriended her on her first day of school, when she “was terrified and didn’t know a soul.”

Puetz has been a committed school bus driver since 1978, even during this past year, which has been marked with personal sorrow: Puetz lost both his wife and his daughter.

Shelly Jonas, executive administrator for MSBOA, said that when Puetz was recognized, “everyone at the awards dinner was in tears. … He is a great example of being a true Transportation Specialist.”

Including Puetz, five outstanding school bus drivers won MSBOA’s 2014 Transportation Specialist Awards for their dedication to their students and their communities. For more details on each of their efforts, click here.

Here is the full list of 2014 Transportation Specialist Award winners:

• Bob Janes, Faribault Transportation, Faribault, Minnesota
• Patty Schunemann, Trobec’s Bus Service, St. Stephen
• Kim Arnold, NorTran Inc., Deer River
• Don Puetz, Bluff Country School Bus Service Inc., Lake City
• Alfred Miller, Vision of Elk River Inc., Elk River

Also handed out at the June 9 event were MSBOA’s Lifetime Achievement Award and Jim DeVeau Award.

John Benjamin won the Jim DeVeau Award, which recognizes devotion to school bus safety in Minnesota. Benjamin began his school bus career in 1989 when his brother Larry Benjamin bought Grisim School Bus. The brothers have worked side by side with their school bus operation (Benjamin Bus) and motorcoach business (Northfield Lines). John Benjamin has served on the MSBOA board and as a committee chair.

Chuck Hey won the 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award, which honors past or present MSBOA members who have dedicated their lives to the Minnesota school bus industry and the safety of the state’s children. Hey owned and ran school bus operations in Jasper, Minnesota, and Sioux Falls, South Dakota. He has served on the MSBOA board, including a term as president, and has been active in the National School Transportation Association.

Related Topics: conferences, Minnesota

Thomas McMahon Executive Editor
Comments ( 1 )
  • Michelle

     | about 3 years ago

    Thank you for your dedication to your students and department. Even with your personal tragedies, you truly show what we do and why we do it. Thank you for being an amazing driver! Congratulations to everyone who received this award!!

More Stories
In a video from Wichita Public Schools, a First Student training manager explains what it takes to become a school bus driver as the local operation looks to bring new recruits on board.

Dealing With Driver Shortage Is Still a Big Deal

There are other commercial driving jobs that pay more than driving a school bus, but they don’t involve transporting students. The opportunity to contribute to children’s education and safety could spark interest in the job.    

Planning has begun for the 17th National Congress on School Transportation (NCST) in 2020. Murrell Martin and Bill Loshbough are shown here leading a discussion at NCST 2015.

NCST 2020 Planning Begins

Planning for the 17th National Congress on School Transportation is now in the works, with committee members being re-established and selected through this summer.

Be the First to Know

Get the latest news and most popular articles from SBF delivered straight to your inbox. Stay on top of the school bus industry and don't miss a thing!