Ohio school bus driver wins state contest by 1 point

Thomas McMahon
Posted on June 2, 2014
Lori Robertson, a Petermann driver for Lakota Local Schools, took her first top title in this year's Ohio School Bus Driver Safety Road-E-O.

Lori Robertson, a Petermann driver for Lakota Local Schools, took her first top title in this year's Ohio School Bus Driver Safety Road-E-O.

PATASKALA, Ohio — It was a close competition, but Lori Robertson came out with a narrow lead to win this year's Ohio School Bus Driver Safety Road-E-O.

It was the first state title for Robertson, a Petermann driver for Lakota Local Schools. She and a few other top finishers from the May 17 event qualified to advance to the 2014 School Bus Driver International Safety Competition, which will be held in Charleston, S.C., on July 19 and 20.

On a day of cold temperatures, overcast skies and moderate wind, 48 school bus drivers from around Ohio assembled at Licking Heights High School in Pataskala for the annual state competition. The drivers had advanced to the state level by placing in the top six in one of eight regional contests.

The competition tests bus drivers' behind-the-wheel skills in such areas as maneuvering through tight spaces, student loading and unloading, railroad crossing procedures and backing. There is also a 100-question written test on CDL rules and school bus pre-trip inspection.

In this year's event, Robertson scored 698 out of 725 possible points to be crowned state champion. She came out one point ahead of Lois Humberger of Genoa Area Local Schools, who took second place.

Here are the top 10 finishers from the Ohio contest, including the type of school bus they drove:

1. Lori Robertson, Lakota/Petermann, transit (Type D)
2. Lois Humberger, Genoa Area Local Schools, conventional (Type C)
3. Linda Schmidt, Archbold Area Schools, transit
4. Deborah Hill, Findlay City Schools, transit
5. Lori Stulz, Loveland City Schools, conventional
6. Steve Rucker, South-Western City Schools, conventional
7. Lori Fanger, Stow-Munroe Falls City School, transit
8. Melanie Bates, Noble Local Schools, conventional
9. Kathleen Smith, Akron Public Schools, transit
10. Pamela Hrouda, South Euclid-Lyndhurst School District, conventional

Related Topics: driver training, Ohio, safety competition/roadeo

Thomas McMahon Executive Editor
Comments ( 1 )
  • Gail

     | about 5 years ago

    why cant you post where everyone placed & their scores?

More Stories

Flush Mounting Bracket

A new flush mounting bracket from Pro-Vision Systems is designed to allow bus cameras to be mounted recessed into the bulkhead of a school bus or a transit bus.


SOS Alert Device

The Mobile Defender – Model S is a small device that employers can give to employees to use as a panic button during their shifts.


Delaware Aide Killed in School Bus Crash

The bus driver apparently fails to remain stopped at a stop sign and collides with a van, police say. Bus aide Barbara Atkins is taken to the hospital and pronounced dead.

Be the First to Know

Get the latest news and most popular articles from SBF delivered straight to your inbox. Stay on top of the school bus industry and don't miss a thing!