School Bus Contractors

Winners named in national bus safety competition

Posted on July 17, 2012

MILWAUKEE — School bus drivers from across the nation competed here over the weekend in the 42nd Annual School Bus Driver International Safety Competition, hosted by the National School Transportation Association.

The event began with a written test, and then contestants got behind the wheel of a bus to put their driving skills to the test, competing in one of three categories: Conventional, Transit or Small Bus. Contestants can earn a maximum of 725 points for the entire competition.

The event culminates with an awards banquet and ceremony.

A breakdown of the winners in each category is as follows:

• First Place: Mark Koelbl, First Student Inc., Calgary, Alberta (Score: 643)
• Second Place: Michael Castaneda, North East Independent School District, San Antonio (Score: 618)
• Third Place: Larry Hannon, Centennial School District, Warminster, Pa. (Score: 611)

• First Place: Antonio Perez, San Dieguito Union High School District, Encinitas, Calif. (Score: 574)
• Second Place: Robert Parrish, First Student Inc., Alaska (Score: 560)
• Third Place: Randy Schwartz, Alpine School District, American Fork, Utah (Score: 549)

Small Bus
• First Place: Russell Altizer, Montgomery County Public Schools, Christianburg, Va. (Score: 585)
• Second Place: Virginia Smythe, Greater Albany (Ore.) Public Schools (Score: 504)
• Third Place: Eleanor Taylor, Monterey County (Calif.) Office of Education (Score: 448)

The School Bus Driver International Safety Competition began in 1971 as the National School Bus Safety Roadeo and continues to take place annually.

Related Topics: NSTA, roadeo

Comments ( 0 )
More Stories

Be the First to Know

Get the latest news and most popular articles from SBF delivered straight to your inbox. Stay on top of the school bus industry and don't miss a thing!