Safety

Bus drivers who use cell phones could lose licenses

Posted on September 6, 2011

MADISON, Wis. — Wisconsin school bus drivers who use cell phones while operating a bus with students on board could lose their licenses under a measure proposed by state Rep. Samantha Kerkman.

The measure, which had a public hearing at the State Capitol on Aug. 30, includes fines of $200 for a first offense and $500 for a second, WHBL News Radio reports. If a driver is caught twice in a two-year period, the Department of Transportation would revoke his or her bus license for a minimum of six months.

Drivers would still be able to use their cell phones to call 9-1-1 during an emergency.

Similar measures have failed to pass the Legislature in recent years.

Related Topics: cell phones

Comments ( 1 )
  • Buslady

     | about 7 years ago

    It should be a NO BRAINER to leave the phone alone while driving the bus.

More Stories
File photo courtesy Des Moines (Iowa) Public Schools
Article

Fed Mandate for Lap-Shoulder Belts Looks Unlikely

It was no big surprise that NTSB’s latest report calls for lap-shoulder belts on school buses. What was surprising was how the agency decided to direct that recommendation: not to the feds, but to the states.

Product

Flush Mounting Bracket

A new flush mounting bracket from Pro-Vision Systems is designed to allow bus cameras to be mounted recessed into the bulkhead of a school bus or a transit bus.

Product

SOS Alert Device

The Mobile Defender – Model S is a small device that employers can give to employees to use as a panic button during their shifts.

Be the First to Know

Get the latest news and most popular articles from SBF delivered straight to your inbox. Stay on top of the school bus industry and don't miss a thing!