N.C. Transportation Hall of Fame honors industry veteran

Posted on September 30, 2010


CARY, N.C. — The North Carolina Transportation Hall of Fame will hold its sixth annual induction and award ceremonies here on Oct. 4.

This year's recipient of the Perley A. Thomas Award For Excellence in Pupil Transportation will be Don Byrnes, retired transportation director for Cleveland County Schools.

Byrnes started his career in school transportation in 1974 with Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools. He moved to Cleveland County Schools and served as director of transportation for 13 years before retiring in 2006 with 32 years of service in the pupil transportation industry.

He is a past president of the North Carolina Pupil Transportation Association, and represented school transportation in the North Carolina Association of School Administrators for six years. 

"As the sponsor of the award, Thomas Built Buses is proud to recognize Byrnes's achievements and contributions to the industry," the company said in a statement.

Related Topics: North Carolina, Thomas Built Buses

Comments ( 0 )
More Stories
Auto Safety House, the Thomas Built Buses dealer for Arizona, will operate as a brand of W.W. Williams. Seen here is a W.W. Williams service center.

W.W. Williams Acquires Auto Safety House

Auto Safety House, the Thomas Built Buses dealership for Arizona, will operate as a brand under the ownership of W.W. Williams, a provider of repair services and products.


Mother Gets Probation for Assaulting School Bus Driver

Kiesha Shannon of Ohio pleads guilty to attacking her daughter’s bus driver and is sentenced to three years of probation. The judge says he had limited sentencing options, which is why he didn’t give her jail time.

Be the First to Know

Get the latest news and most popular articles from SBF delivered straight to your inbox. Stay on top of the school bus industry and don't miss a thing!