NAPT Summit scholarship winners announced

Posted on September 16, 2010

ALBANY, N.Y. — Twelve industry professionals have received scholarships to attend the upcoming National Association for Pupil Transportation (NAPT) Summit in Portland, Ore., Oct. 30 to Nov. 4.

Ten scholarships donated by Zonar Systems went to: 

• Brenda Shaffer of Chelan, Wash.
• Pat Jensen of Crescent, Calif.
• Leonard Swilley of Jackson, Miss.
• Leon Langley of Baltimore
• Yvonne Carpenter of Shoreline, Wash.
• J. Renee Davis of Houston
• Tracie Chandler of Lynnwood, Wash.
• Laura Sigmund of Inchelium, Wash.
• Peggy Whitacre of Romney, W.Va.
• Donna Haney of Santa Fe, Texas

Each scholarship will cover the cost of one conference registration. Recipients will be responsible for all other expenses, as SBF previously reported.

Priority was given to applicants who justified the scholarship as a determining factor for their ability to attend the summit.

Another scholarship was awarded to two people: Lynda Nunez of Tucson, Ariz., and Nancy Kessler of Houston. These women received a scholarship created by Peter Lawrence, director of transportation for Fairport (N.Y.) Central School District, and his wife, Linda.

The Peter and Linda Lawrence Training Scholarship will cover the conference registration fee. Applicants were required to submit a cover letter that contained a brief statement of financial need and two letters of recommendation.

The letters were required to detail how the candidate’s professional capabilities and personal integrity justified receiving the scholarship. A description of why he or she wanted to receive the scholarship, what he or she hopes to achieve by attending the conference and how the training would enhance the applicant’s effectiveness as a trainer was also required, as SBF previously reported.

Related Topics: conferences, NAPT

Comments ( 0 )
More Stories

VIDEO: Kansas District’s School Bus Safety Week PSA

Emporia (Kan.) Public Schools’ video for National School Bus Safety Week informs the public about safety procedures, including pre-trip inspections, warning lights and stop arms, and student loading and unloading.

Representatives of The Peterbilt Store accept the TRP Bus Segment Dealer of the Year Award at the PACCAR Parts and Peterbilt 2016 Parts and Service Meeting in Orlando, Florida. Photo courtesy of Rosena Usmani.

More Bus, Truck Parts Dealers Honored

Among other PACCAR Parts and Peterbilt Motors Co. awards presented in Orlando, Florida, The Peterbilt Store receives the TRP Bus Segment Dealer of the Year Award.

Be the First to Know

Get the latest news and most popular articles from SBF delivered straight to your inbox. Stay on top of the school bus industry and don't miss a thing!