School Bus Contractors

FirstGroup exec joins safety group’s board of directors

Posted on November 24, 2009

CINCINNATI — Mike Murray, president and CEO of FirstGroup America, has been elected to the National Safety Council’s (NSC) board of directors.

The NSC announced Murray’s appointment at its 2009 Congress and Expo last month in Orlando, Fla. 

As a board member, Murray will help guide NSC’s overall strategy. He will also serve as a trustee for the organization, assisting with the group’s development and fundraising activities. Murray’s term as a board member runs through 2010.

“I am honored to help the National Safety Council further their goal to be the premier educators and advocates for safety,” Murray said. “This is a great opportunity to share ideas and develop strategic practices with others who have a passion for safety.”

Founded in 1913, the NSC strives to make homes, communities and work environments safer by preventing injuries and deaths through advocacy, education, research and leadership.

Murray has more than 22 years of experience in transportation, including nine with FirstGroup America. In his current role, Murray oversees the company and its nearly 100,000 employees across North America. FirstGroup America is the parent company of school transportation provider First Student.

Related Topics: FirstGroup America

Comments ( 0 )
More Stories
Blake Krapf has begun a two-year term as president of the National School Transportation Association. Tiffany Boykin is the new executive director. 

New Leadership Takes the Reins at NSTA

Blake Krapf begins a two-year term as president of the school bus contractors association. Meanwhile, Tiffany Boykin is named the new executive director.

Be the First to Know

Get the latest news and most popular articles from SBF delivered straight to your inbox. Stay on top of the school bus industry and don't miss a thing!