NAPT elects new board members

Posted on November 13, 2009

LOUISVILLE, Ky. — Members of the National Association for Pupil Transportation (NAPT) chose new board members in an election held online and at the trade show here last week.

Alexandra Robinson, a veteran transportation director with San Diego Unified School District and an expert on special-needs transportation, was named president-elect. Robinson is a past winner of the SBF Administrator of Year award, having earned the honor in 2000.

The election also determined the first person to hold the newly created affiliate member position on the NAPT board. Mike Roscoe of school bus seat and restraint supplier The C.E. White Co. captured the spot. Roscoe is a former state pupil transportation director and has served as president of NAPT. He has also won the Administrator of the Year award, in 1995.

(Affiliate members are from a for-profit organization engaged in a commercial aspect of pupil transportation or a not-for-profit business, association or organization interested in the improvement of pupil transportation.)

Also in the election, Bill Tousley of Farmington (Mich.) Public Schools, who just ended his term as NAPT president, was named director of the association’s Region 3. And Launi Schmutz of Washington County (Utah) School District was re-elected to her director-at-large position.


Related Topics: NAPT

Comments ( 2 )
  •  | about 8 years ago

    John, It would be nice if you stepped forward instead of stepping back ... but perhaps that's just your personal style. We have a leadership program that might help you. If you would like to learn more or discuss your perspective with me, I'd be happy to hear from you. Feel free to call me at 800-989-NAPT. Sincerely, Mike Martin, Executive Director, NAPT

  • See all comments
More Stories

VIDEO: Louisiana District Rolls Out Propane Buses

Public television program MotorWeek spotlights East Baton Rouge Parish Schools, which bought 10 propane school buses after flooding wiped out a portion of its fleet last year. Now, the district has ordered 30 more.


Truck Strikes 3 Students at School Bus Stop

According to police in Minnesota, initial reports indicate that the bus was stopped with its stop arm extended, and the teens were hit by the pickup truck as they walked toward the bus.

In 2013, Murrell Martin became the chair of the National Congress on School Transportation (NCST). Martin is shown here at the podium, left, at the 2015 NCST conference. 

Utah State Director Murrell Martin to Retire

Martin has served as chair of the National Congress on School Transportation and has overseen pupil transportation in Utah since 2006. He began his career 34 years ago as a substitute school bus driver.

On Dec. 1, Baltimore County Public Schools unveiled what it calls its Mobile Innovation Lab, a mobile classroom and “makerspace” built on a school bus.

PHOTOS: Baltimore District's Mobile 'Makerspace' Conversion

Baltimore County Public Schools recently unveiled its Mobile Innovation Lab, a mobile classroom and “makerspace” built on a school bus. The lab helps students learn about coding, programming, robotics, and circuitry in a hands-on environment.


When the Going Gets Tough, Reitano Gets Tougher

Whether it’s solving school bus challenges, confronting a state association crisis, or fighting cancer (twice), New Jersey’s Ingrid Reitano has stayed strong for more than 40 years in pupil transportation.


Push-to-Talk Device

DispatchPlus Push-to-Talk is designed to provide one-touch communication and GPS tracking in one solution.

Be the First to Know

Get the latest news and most popular articles from SBF delivered straight to your inbox. Stay on top of the school bus industry and don't miss a thing!