New NTSB member sworn in, designated vice chairman

Posted on August 14, 2009

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Christopher A. Hart was sworn in as a member of the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) last week, and President Obama designated him the agency's vice chairman. Hart joins the board with a long career in transportation safety, including a previous term as a member of the NTSB from 1990 to 1993.

From 1993 to 1995, he served as deputy administrator of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. He then served as assistant administrator for the Office of System Safety at the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). Most recently, Hart was FAA deputy director for air traffic safety oversight.

From 1973 until joining the NTSB in 1990, Hart held a series of legal positions, mostly in the private sector. He holds a law degree from Harvard University and master's and bachelor's degrees in aerospace engineering from Princeton University. He is a member of the District of Columbia Bar and the Lawyer-Pilots Bar Association.

Hart is a licensed pilot with commercial, multi-engine and instrument ratings. His term at NTSB expires Dec. 31, 2012.

In July, Deborah Hersman was sworn in for the two-year term as NTSB chairman and a second five-year term as a member. Mark Rosenker and Kathryn “Kitty” Higgins resigned from the board.


Related Topics: NTSB

Comments ( 0 )
More Stories

Man Accused of Jumping Onto Moving School Bus

Leverne Doran of Maryland tells police that someone on the bus threw a bottle at his vehicle. When the bus driver refuses to open the door, Doran allegedly jumps onto the front of the bus.

Be the First to Know

Get the latest news and most popular articles from SBF delivered straight to your inbox. Stay on top of the school bus industry and don't miss a thing!