School Bus Contractors

STA awards scholarships to high school graduates

Posted on September 4, 2008

WALL, N.J. — Student Transportation of America (STA) recently announced that nine Pennsylvania high school graduates have been named 2008 STA/John Finfrock Scholars by the STA Education Foundation.

Created six years ago to reward high school seniors enrolled in Pennsylvania districts served by local STA companies, the annual STA/Finfrock scholarship program has awarded more than $25,000 to date to students who have demonstrated academic achievement, community service and leadership.

This year’s recipients — Tyler Loennig, Margaret Palermo, Jaclyn Iacono, Benjamin Cossitor, Laura Beachy, Kaitlin Fabich, Adam Odenwelder, Carly Turk and Katie Ellison — each received a $1,000 scholarship to attend the college of their choice.

The scholarships are funded by donations generated by the annual STA/John Finfrock Scholarship Golf Outing. This year’s event raised nearly $15,000, a 50-percent increase over last year. The proceeds will be used to fund an even greater number of scholarships in spring 2009.

“The generosity of the participants in our annual golf outing has allowed us to double the number of scholarships awarded this year,” said Peter Pearson, STA’s regional chief operating officer. “The pool of scholarship candidates was the most impressive to date, so selecting nine students out of more than 100 was tougher than ever.”

A total of 107 students representing 17 Pennsylvania school districts applied for the award, which is named after John Finfrock, STA consultant and a long-time educator who has dedicated his life to serving students and the pupil transportation industry.


Related Topics: Student Transportation of America

Comments ( 0 )
More Stories
Blake Krapf has begun a two-year term as president of the National School Transportation Association. Tiffany Boykin is the new executive director. 

New Leadership Takes the Reins at NSTA

Blake Krapf begins a two-year term as president of the school bus contractors association. Meanwhile, Tiffany Boykin is named the new executive director.

Be the First to Know

Get the latest news and most popular articles from SBF delivered straight to your inbox. Stay on top of the school bus industry and don't miss a thing!