New York county names School Bus Driver of the Year

Posted on March 27, 2008

POUGHKEEPSIE, N.Y. — Candace Swart has been named Dutchess County’s School Bus Driver of the Year. Selected by the Dutchess County Traffic Safety Board, the award is given in conjunction with the launch of the annual Operation Safe Stop Project.

Richard Johns, superintendent at Webutuck Central School District, nominated Swart for the award based on her 31 years of service at the district, her record of driving over 900,000 miles without an accident and her dedication to her work.

According to Johns, Swart drives a wide range of routes for the district, notifies administrators of driver performance issues or route factors that affect safety and maintains control of students with appropriate discipline and rewards.

“Candy is a person who can easily represent all that is right in student transportation,” Johns said. “Both parents and students just love her and frequently call to make sure that she will be driving their route again next year.”

Swart will be presented with a plaque at the Operation Safe Stop kickoff press conference March 31 at the New York State Police Troop K Headquarters in Poughkeepsie, said William Steinhaus, Dutchess County executive.

“She is a model bus driver who always keeps her eye on the safety of her children and is greatly respected by supervisory staff, her peers and the students,” Steinhaus added.


Related Topics: public image

Comments ( 0 )
More Stories

VIDEO: Kansas District’s School Bus Safety Week PSA

Emporia (Kan.) Public Schools’ video for National School Bus Safety Week informs the public about safety procedures, including pre-trip inspections, warning lights and stop arms, and student loading and unloading.

Representatives of The Peterbilt Store accept the TRP Bus Segment Dealer of the Year Award at the PACCAR Parts and Peterbilt 2016 Parts and Service Meeting in Orlando, Florida. Photo courtesy of Rosena Usmani.

More Bus, Truck Parts Dealers Honored

Among other PACCAR Parts and Peterbilt Motors Co. awards presented in Orlando, Florida, The Peterbilt Store receives the TRP Bus Segment Dealer of the Year Award.

Be the First to Know

Get the latest news and most popular articles from SBF delivered straight to your inbox. Stay on top of the school bus industry and don't miss a thing!