New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

bwest
Administrator

United States
3820 Posts

Posted - 12/08/2017 :  09:19:23 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Child Discipline; Should we stay with what has worked for thousands of years, or should we try something new and unproven! Get ready, get set.................GO!!

krmvcs
Advanced Member

362 Posts

Posted - 12/08/2017 :  09:37:47 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
First, since it got locked before I had a chance to say it, "Spare the coffee, spoil productivity."

With that out of the way, I think it comes down to preference. I was spanked and later in life my dad said it broke his heart to do it. But after that first time all he had to do was mention the belt. I think I turned out alright. I am a mechanic though so maybe there is something to that. :D

Also, we seem to be living in this new outrage culture where every topic is spun out into ridiculous proportions and everyone seems to think that they have a moral high ground. Often and as with this last thread, a single word or phrase sparks someone to make assumptions and conclusions about someone they dont know, and infer things about them that are not true. Personally I think that if people spent less time being nosy busy bodies and more time having respectful and meaningful (especially concerning uncomfortable topics) conversations we would all not only get along better, but would actually come up with answers.

-Ken-
Go to Top of Page

bwest
Administrator

United States
3820 Posts

Posted - 12/08/2017 :  10:24:41 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by krmvcs

First, since it got locked before I had a chance to say it, "Spare the coffee, spoil productivity."