Professional Garage
 Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 Maxxforce Crank but no Start
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

coltentriplett

1 Posts

Posted - 07/13/2017 :  11:34:10 AM  Show Profile  Visit coltentriplett's Homepage  Reply with Quote
We have 2 buses that have been sitting since May when school was let out and have only been started once since then. I went out today to try to start them but they both crank but no start. When cranking the oil pressure gauge gradually builds but doesnt reach past 20 psi. I am new to school buses and especially the maxxforce engines. One unit is a 2012 with roughly 30,000 miles and the other one is a 2009 with 78,000 miles. Any idea what could cause the issue? Both buses were running fine when parked both have morning and afternoon routes and we havent had any issues before this.

RonF
Top Member

867 Posts

Posted - 07/14/2017 :  03:14:11 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Welcome the club of MaxxFarce junk. I assume you are talking about MaxxFarce 9's. These things are notorious for this problem and most of believe it is fuel draining back to the tank. I have 5 here and I let them sit since may until two weeks ago and had the same issue. After a ton of cranking they finally started. I had the same issue with a dozen or so in the last system I was in. Start them often or find out why the fuel drains back.

US Army retired CMBT
Go to Top of Page

aaronwilmoth80911
Top Member

538 Posts

Posted - 07/14/2017 :  05:41:51 AM  Show Profile  Visit aaronwilmoth80911's Homepage  Reply with Quote
What MaxxForce are you talking about? I assume that RonF knows what he's talking about because he has had the same problem, but if it isn't a Maxxforce 9, you will need to look at different things for different engines.
Go to Top of Page

AW

52 Posts

Posted - 07/14/2017 :  12:08:05 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
If they sat that long, are the batteries up to full strength?