Enter Forum: Professional Garage
 2004 Thomas HDX A2000 Trans limp mode
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

matts4290
Advanced Member

224 Posts

Posted - 11/16/2015 :  5:38:30 PM  Show Profile  Visit matts4290's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I just bought a 2004 Thomas Saftliner HDX ER from a church. Some nice specs, tall roof, A/C, coach style seats, seat belts, tinted windows, 41 pass, A2000 Allison, 3126- and its my first Thomas after owning 8 blue bird

I bought it with Transmission issues. The church said they didn't want to mess with it and just sold it. Currently, only have 3rd gear, neutral, and reverse. Will not upshift through the gears. Speedo is inop, odometer not counting, ABS light on, and the trans inhibit light on the shifter is not on.

It sounds to me like the trans isn't getting power. The terminals on the batteries look good, but I'm not sure where the trans gets its power from. I'm not a mechanic but I work at a tire shop and we have mechanics that work on stuff like this. My first course of action is to bring it to the shop and have them plug in to it with Allison software and go from there. I'm hoping someone could point me in the right direction, or have any ideas.

Also, I noticed a drip on the front of the engine, and its dripping on the harmonic balancer. It is fuel, but I can't see where its coming from. Any ideas on that too?

aaronwilmoth80911
Top Member

538 Posts

Posted - 11/16/2015 :  7:03:54 PM  Show Profile  Visit aaronwilmoth80911's Homepage  Reply with Quote