04 Freightliner Cat c7 just shut off
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Mark23290

United States
96 Posts

Posted - 10/13/2015 :  06:55:44 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have a 04 Freigtliner Cat c7 was running fine then just stopped. Cranks over will not fire. Checked the fuses at the battery and the relay in the side panel.
On the dash with key in on position the odometer screen reads No eng.

Got fuel last night but have put on 40 miles since and the bus was running fine till it just died in the middle of the road.
I'm a private contractor and we are short good mechanics around here, the one place I called said he had to tow a c7 to cat for diagnosis. Others say they don't have software and others just want to replace any part..

Any help is greatly appreciated or if you can steer me in directions to look?

tigger2
Advanced Member

USA
469 Posts

Posted - 10/13/2015 :  08:36:21 AM  Show Profile  Click to see tigger2's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
The fuses are in the block behind the dash above the front rt. heater box. wiring goes through the bulkhead to the left to the ECM check for rubbed through wires. could possibly have lost the communications J1939 connection. very hard to check out without software. check the obvious oil level, fuel level, coolant level, try to pump the primer to see if fuel is primed.
Go to Top of Page

Mark23290

United States
96 Posts

Posted - 10/13/2015 :  08:42:44 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Can you tell me where the primer is? The ecm is that in the dash? Do you know what fuse is the ecm in that panel? It's not marked. I do notice the check engine light doesn't come on when I turn the key on? Thank you so much for the input.
Go to Top of Page

Mark23290

United States
96 Posts

Posted - 10/13/2015 :  08:58:19 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote